Gods Absolute Morality

Where do we find evidence that morality comes from god and not natural processes.

I was told in a comment section that gods absolute morality is only found in Christian faith. I asked him to name an absolute, unchanging moral truth of the Bible, and this was the closest he could go. “I’ll cite to you what seems to me to be about as near to an absolute moral statement as I can think of. In Matthew 12:31, Mark 3:29 and Luke 12:10 it is written that Jesus told people that blasphemy against the Holy Spirit cannot be forgiven in this world or the world to come”—But what if I have not received this Holy Spirit through revelation? I’m told my ego has kept me from accepting jesus.

It this the closest example of an absolute found in scripture. I would like to learn more. Something concrete and unchanging in the Bible’s exemplary moral standard.

Author: jimoeba

Alternatives to big box religions and dogmas

14 thoughts on “Gods Absolute Morality”

  1. Jim from what I can see from theist comments the unchanging god changed its view on what was moral and what was not. In fact as far as I can tell god changed his views on what was right or wrong at about the same speed as humans did. Seems to me god was created in man’s image and so follows man’s morality standards. What god thinks is good depends on what the man in question thinks is good. Have a great day. Hugs

    Liked by 5 people

      1. Does it seem the newer the god the closer it is to our own views on right and wrong? Like the older the god the more whacked it seems to us? I wonder why that is? Hugs

        Liked by 3 people

    1. That’s what I was thinking. He had no examples of absolute right and wrongs from god or the Bible, but the article is all about gods absolute morality. All I’ve ever seen is vile behavior and rule changes to suit social pressures. If morality comes from god they should at least have some examples.

      Liked by 4 people

  2. Hahaha. 🤭 Here’s my vote Jim for Name one absolute, unchanging moral truth of the Bible.

    #1? — Things are not always as they seem nor written.

    Honorable Mention? — Never, ever, never, ever, never, EVER consider alternative sources and viewpoints other than Christian or Hellenistic Roman to corroborate the veracity of said 4th century CE canonical Bible!

    Let everyone shout hallelujah $$Amen$$!!! 😈

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I just gave him some evidence of neurological morality and he said he want this to be an ontological discussion. Aah, solving problematic lack of evidence with philosophy. That always works. I think this Hayden Clark must name related to Mel.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yeah, for his part, he has made no ontological case – just an observation about some general regularities in human behavior and a couple of assertions about the observations.
        There is no structural link.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, he is! Abrahamic god is the absolute morality for believers. He kills and rapes children, beheads atheists and other “enemies”, owns women and dominates them as objects. The thing is our concept of morality is different from believers’ They obsessively believe that everything their religion says is unquestionably true!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Or they use the “god is outside our moral framework” argument. He can’t do anything wrong so he can self declare all is well with the items you mentioned. Good to see you sir.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. There are at least two Monotheistic Gods in the Christian Bible. So how can you have unchanging morality? Polytheistic Gods are the Deathless Ones, but They do receive new attributes from time to time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment